On Monday I discover a New Word

I was going to write something brilliant this morning to go with the bright new first Monday of the year.

Instead, I got distracted by my 1941 edition of Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases, Classified and Arranged so as to Facilitate the Expression of Ideas and to Assist in Literary Composition, by Peter Mark Roget.

Which is how I stumbled  – perhaps stumbled is too strong a word, but that’s what it felt like – upon the word: contango.

One glance and I was in love. How exotic! Surely a dance of some kind, but a specific dance in a spectacular place, perhaps the moonlit  dance floor of a small nightclub nestled beneath the hulking shadow of the Dois Irmãos (Two Brothers) mountains of Rio De Janeiro? Someone in the corner strumming the strings of a 12-string guitar, capturing perfectly the mood of the night …

But alas, according to Investopedia, the definition of contango is: A situation where the futures price of a commodity is above the expected future spot price.

Oh well. Still, I’m keeping an eye on contango. I suspect that it’s a word with a troubled past and a suspect future.

Leave a Reply

